2022/2023 Presentation Night

The Club Presentation Night was held on Saturday 27th May, with the following awards presented:

Age Group Champions:

Girls 9/10:

1st Bronte Pyke
2nd Chelsea Hebbard
2nd Freya Somerville

Boys 9/10:

1st Guillermo Zevallos Fortunic

Girls 11/12:

1st Tessa Newstead
2nd Piper Jankowiak
3rd Tegwyn Somerville

Boys 11/12:

1st Cooper Sampson

2nd Rory Hanson

3rd Cooper Westwood

3rd Thomas Walker

Girls 13/14:

1st Layla Chapman

2nd Makayla Edlington

3rd Esther Talko-Nicholas

Boys 13/14:

1st Lukas Kempff

2nd Paul Ng

3rd Joshua Newstead

Girls 15/16:

1st Grace Ng

2nd Zara Frost

3rd Ashley Westwood

3rd Ruby Newton

Boys 15/16:

1st Lagan Joshi

2nd Callum Clarke

17 & Over Male

1st David Ng

17 & Over Female

1st Hannah Ng 

2nd Jordan Raeburn

Kate Buckley Award – Nationals Trophy

Kate Buckley was a Bairnsdale swimmer who represented our club with great success at State and National levels: The Kate Buckley Award is presented to the swimmer who has gained the most points at Victorian Country Championships and at State and National Level.

Winner – Layla Chapman

The Club Aggregate Shields are presented to a male and female swimmer who has received the most points for events swam at swim meets they have attended for the season. The Shield for the female swimmer has been donated by Faye Staughton and the Shield for the male swimmer donated by Ron Reed.

Winner of the Ron Reed Award – Cooper Sampson

Winner of the Faye Staughton Award – Layla Chapman

Gippsland Championships Aggregate Shields are presented to the male and female swimmer who has received the most points at our Gippsland Championships.

Female Winner – Layla Chapman

Male Winner –Cooper Sampson

Cody McMahon Memorial Award

In memory of Cody Mcmahon awarded to the best performed PB at Gippsland Championships in the 9/10 age group.

Winner– Bronte Pyke

Special Coaches Awards:

Coaches Awards are presented to swimmers who have demonstrated a commitment to their swimming by training hard and consistently, by listening and respecting their coaches and their fellow team mates and responding positively to club activities.


Layla Chapman, Grace Ng, Joshua Newstead, Paul Ng, Cooper Sampson, Tessa Newstead

Most Improved Awards are presented to swimmers whom coaches have seen great improvement in throughout the season – not only in their times but also by the events and distances they have swum.


Esther Talko-Nicholas, Amelie Prince, Thomas Walker, Xavier Newton, Lukas Kempff, Zara Frost, Callum Clarke

Encouragement Awards are presented to swimmers who the coaches have recognised to be committed to their swimming and who are enthusiastic team members.


Tori Williams, Nicholas Walker, Bronte Pyke, Cooper Westwood, Chelsea Hebbard, Piper Jankowiak, Fern Zevallos Fortunic, Tegwyn Somerville, Yvan Cabrera

Congratulations all and thank you to all of our sponsors:

East Gippsland Water, Snowy River Seeds, Dahlsens, Tyrepower Lakes Entrance and Friths Plumbing.