2018-19 Season Presentation Night

[See club Facebook Page for photos]

The Club Presentation Night was held on Friday 17th May, with the following awards presented:

Age Group Champions:

Boys 8 & Under: Campbell Edlington

Girls 9/10: 1st Layla Chapman, 2nd Makayla Edlington, 3rd Asha Jankowiak

Boys 9/10: 1st Joshua Newstead, 2nd Kael Frith, 3rd Paul Ng

Girls 11/12: 1st Antje Kempff, 2nd Ella Poore, 3rd Ruby Newton

Boys 11/12: 1st Corbin Blake, 2nd Gus Russell, 3rd Jadah Frith

Girls 13/14: 1st Kiera O’Neill, 2nd Brylee McMahon, equal 3rd Jordan Raeburn & Matilda Sumner

Boys 13/14: 1st Cohen Frith, 2nd William Wayside, 3rd David Ng

Girls 15/16: 1st Hannah Ng, 2nd Charli Young

Boys 15/16: 1st Brendan Malcolm

17 & Over: Male – Jordan Strini Female – 1st Kayci Westwood, 2nd Priyanka Joshi

25 & Over: Female –  1st Paula O’Neill, 2nd Jo Poore

Open Male: 1st David Ng, 2nd Jordan Strini, 3rd William Wayside

Open Female: 1st Kayci Westwood, 2nd Hannah Ng, equal 3rd Jordan Raeburn & Matilda Sumner


Kate Buckley Award – Nationals Trophy

Kate Buckley was a Bairnsdale swimmer who represented our club with great success at State and National levels: The Kate Buckley Award is presented to the swimmer who has gained the most points at Victorian Country Championships and at State and National Level.

Winner – Antje Kempff


The Club Aggregate Shields are presented to a male and female swimmer who has received the most points for events swam at swim meets they have attended for the season. The Shield for the female swimmer has been donated by Faye Staughton and the Shield for the male swimmer donated by Ron Reed.

Winner of the Ron Reed Award – Joshua Newstead

Winner of the Faye Staughton Award – Layla Chapman


Gippsland Championships Aggregate Shields are presented to the male and female swimmer who has received the most points at our Gippsland Championships.

Female Winner – Antje Kempff

Male Winner –Joshua Newstead


Special Coaches Awards:

Coaches Awards are presented to swimmers who have demonstrated a commitment to their swimming by training hard and consistently, by listening and respecting their coaches and their fellow team mates and responding positively to club activities.


Cohen Frith, Corbin Blake, Ruby Newton, Makayla Edlington, Joshua Newstead, Matilda Sumner


Most Improved Awards are presented to swimmers whom coaches have seen great improvement in throughout the season – not only in their times but also by the events and distances they have swum.


Hannah Ng, David Ng, Jadah Frith, Lagan Joshi, Layla Chapman, Mia Chapman


Encouragement Awards are presented to swimmers who the coaches have recognised to be committed to their swimming and who are enthusiastic team members.


Pip Treasure, Lukas Kempff, Ashley Westwood, Ashleigh Grech, Grace Ng, Ashlin O’Neill, Xavier Newton


Most valuable team member is awarded to a swimmer who has shown dedication to the East Gippsland Waterdragons both in and out of the pool. They demonstrate pride in swimming for the Dragons and lead by example at all times.

Winner – Brylee McMahon


Most Supportive Club Member is awarded to a committee member, parent or coach who has volunteered many hours of hard work in assisting in the running of our club.

Dual Winners – Pip Smith and Peter Wayside


Congratulations all and thank you to all of our sponsors:

East Gippsland Water, Snowy River Seeds, Four n Twenty, Dahlsens, and Friths Plumbing.